How to Leave a Google Classroom

Updated

Looking for instructions on how to leave a Google Classroom? Look no further! Our step-by-step guide will show you exactly how to do it.

How to Leave a Google Classroom

Leaving a Google Classroom is easy, or at least it should be. If you’re a student who already passed a class or even dropped a class (I’m looking at you, Rebecca), you might want to remove it from your list of courses, or you might want to leave so you stop getting pesky email notifications for it. Luckily, leaving a classroom is pretty easy, even if administration has disabled that option. Continue reading for more information on how to leave a Google Classroom.

How to Leave a Google Classroom

To leave a Google Classroom:

  1. Sign into the Google Account that you’re using as a student.
  2. Hit the ☰ icon in the top left of your screen.
  3. Click Classes.
  4. Click the ⋮ icon on the class you want to leave.
  5. Hit Unenroll.

If you are a class co-teacher, you can follow the same steps, except you’ll click Leave Class.

Why Can’t I Leave a Classroom?

If you cannot leave a classroom, it’s likely because the school administrators disabled the feature, so students don’t accidentally leave a class. To fix this, contact your school administrator and explain that you have to leave the class because you’re not in it anymore. They should be able to remove you from the class in their administrator settings manually.

How to Leave Google Class Room

FAQ

Why can’t I leave a Google Classroom class?

If you are the owner or manager of a Google Classroom class, you cannot leave the class. This is because you are responsible for the class, and leaving would mean that the class would be unsupervised. Additionally, it’s possible the school administrators have disabled that option for you.

How do I leave a Google Classroom 2022 as a student?

If you need to leave a Google Classroom for any reason, follow the guide above for a step-by-step walkthrough on how to leave a class as a student.

Can a student remove himself from Google classroom?

Yes, students can remove themselves from Google Classrooms. They will need to go into their list of classrooms and press the 3 dots next to the class they want to leave.

For more tech guides, see our Tech Section.