How to Tell If Someone Blocked You on Facebook

Follow these steps to tell if someone may have blocked you or unfriended you on Facebook.

How to Tell If Someone Blocked You on Facebook

Facebook has been one of the largest social media apps since its inception. It’s a good way to stay in touch with friends and family and share what’s going on in your life. If you’re active on Facebook, there may come a time when someone blocks your account. Whether it’s due to a falling out you had with a friend or a controversial opinion you shared on the app, we’ll show you how to tell if someone blocked you on Facebook.

Before going into all the different ways to tell if someone has blocked you on Facebook, you’ll need to know the person’s name. Due to privacy concerns, there is no way to see a complete list of anyone that has ever blocked you. Therefore, the steps below will only apply if you think someone specifically has blocked your account.

How to tell if someone blocked you on Facebook

Here are all the ways to check if someone has blocked you on Facebook:

  1. View the person’s profile page.
  2. Search for the person in the search bar.
  3. Check your Friends list.
  4. Tag the person in a post.
  5. Message them through Facebook or Messenger.

View the person’s profile page

The first step to tell if someone may have blocked you on Facebook is to go to the person’s profile page. If you cannot view the person’s profile page, either their account has been deactivated, or they blocked you. 

Of course, you will first need the link to the person’s profile page. You can get the person’s profile page through mutual friends or by searching from another account. That leads us to the next step.

The next way to tell if someone may have blocked you on Facebook is by using the search bar. Type the person’s name into the search bar on the Facebook website or app. Unless the person has strict privacy settings, their name should pop up when you search for them, especially if you have mutual friends in common.

If their name comes up and you click it and see the message, “This content isn’t available right now,” it is a sign they may have unfriended you or blocked you.

Check your Friends list

Another way to tell if someone has blocked you on Facebook is by checking your Friends list. Go to your profile page, and tap on the Friends button to see a full list of all your friends. Navigate to the “All friends” tab, and search for the person’s name that you think may have blocked you. 

If the person does not show up in your Friends list, the person has either unfriended you, blocked you entirely, or deactivated their Facebook account. Do not assume they blocked you just by checking this step–it is possible they took a break from Facebook and simply disabled their account.

Tag the person in a post

Another way to check if a person may have blocked you is by trying to tag them in a story or status update. Type the @ sign followed by their name. A dropdown should open to autosuggest people with the name you typed. If you type a person’s full name to tag them and you’re unable to do so, it’s possible that person has blocked you or deactivated their Facebook account.

Note that some people may have tagging disabled in the Facebook settings, so this is not a surefire way to tell if someone blocked you. However, if you were previously able to tag them, it’s a sign that they may have blocked you, unfriended you, or deactivated their account.

Message them through Facebook or Messenger

The last way to tell if someone may have blocked you is by trying to send them a message on Facebook or through Messenger. Outgoing messages to someone who blocked you will have a red error icon to the right of the message. If you see that message, it means the person has blocked you or unfriended you and disabled messages from non-friends.

Those are a few different ways to see if someone might have blocked you on Facebook. For more social media guides, you can check out our Facebook section!

Facebook is available via the official Facebook website, Google Play, and the App Store.