How to Remove Someone From an Instagram Group Chat

Here’s a guide explaining how to remove someone from a group chat on Instagram.

How to Remove Someone From an Instagram Group Chat

Instagram is a popular social media app where users can share photos and chat with others. There’s even a group chat option, where users can get a group of friends and make a chatroom together. Whoever starts the group is an admin, and they can add or remove people from the group. This guide will show you how to remove someone from an Instagram group chat.

How to Remove Someone From an Instagram Group Chat

To remove someone from an Instagram group chat:

  1. Open Instagram and tap on the chat icon on the top right.
  2. Tap on the group chat you want to remove someone from.
  3. Tap on the text that says, See group members.
  4. Scroll down on the Details tab to the Members section.
  5. Tap on the three dots to the right of the user you want to remove and select the Remove from group button.

That’s how you remove someone from an Instagram group chat. Note that you will need to be an admin in the group chat in order to remove someone. You can tell you’re an admin if you go into the group chat Details and go to the Members section. If you’re an admin, your name will have the word Admin under it.

After removing someone from the group chat, you can continue the chat as normal without the person you removed.

FAQ

How do you kick someone out of a group chat?

To kick someone out of a group chat, go to the chat tab, select the group chat you want to kick someone out of, tap on the three dots to the right of the user, and select the ‘Remove from group’ option.

How do I remove myself from a group chat on Instagram without notifying users?

To remove yourself from a group chat on Instagram without notifying users, go to your settings and turn off notifications for the group chat.

How do you leave a group chat on Instagram 2022?

To leave a group on Instagram, tap on the chat icon on the top right of Instagram, then tap on the group chat. Tap on the member names at the top of the screen to open the Details tab, and then scroll down to the bottom and select Leave Chat.

How can you see a group chat on Instagram without them knowing?

There is no way to see a group chat on Instagram without the people in the chat knowing.

Why can’t I leave a group chat on Instagram?

If you are the creator or admin of a group chat on Instagram, you cannot leave the chat. Only the creator or admin of a group chat can add or remove people from the chat. The admin of an Instagram group chat can make someone else an admin, and then they will will be able to leave the chat.

Do you leave a group chat when you delete it Instagram?

If you delete a group chat on Instagram, it only removes the conversation history for you. You will need to manually leave the group chat from the Details menu to remove yourself from the group chat.

For more guides and walkthroughs, check out our Instagram section.