How to Delete Your TikTok Account (and Request Your Data)
Has TikTok taken up enough of your valuable time? Well, it might be time to delete your account. Deleting your TikTok account is a reasonably straightforward process, but we understand you probably want to follow the exact steps to understand how it works and ensure it’s gone for good.
So, if you’re looking to get rid of your TikTok account and permanently delete it, follow the steps outlined below. We’ll also show you how to request a file with all your data, so you can review it and keep a copy.
How to Delete Your TikTok Account
To delete your TikTok account, you’ll need to go into the in-app Settings and privacy menu, go to Manage account, and select Deactivate or delete account. Follow the on-screen in-app instructions to delete your account completely.
Here’s a step-by-step guide on how to delete your TikTok account:
- Launch TikTok on your mobile device.
- Go to your Profile page.
- Tap the three lines at the top-right of the app.
- Tap on Settings and privacy.
- Go to Manage account.
- Select Deactivate or delete account.
- Check the box next to why you want to leave TikTok and hit Continue.
Optional: Tap on Request download if you want to download your TikTok data. You can no longer download it once you delete your account. Wait until you receive your data before deleting your account.
- Check the radio button above Continue to proceed with the account deletion.
- Press Continue to deactivate your account. The account will be fully deleted after 30 days.
You can reactivate your account anytime before the 30 days are up by logging back in using your credentials. If you delete your TikTok account:
- You will not be able to log in and use TikTok services with that account.
- You will lose access to your videos.
- Information not stored in your account (direct messages) may remain visible to others.
- Information not stored on TikTok servers (drafts) will be removed.
- You will not be able to get a refund on any items you purchased or received.
That’s how to delete your TikTok account and request a copy of your data. Your account will remain inactive for 30 days. If you change your mind, you can always reactivate it before the 30 days are up.