How to Delete Your Instagram Account (January 2022)

Updated
How to Delete Your Instagram Account

Instagram has quickly become a leading social media platform worldwide and is part of Meta’s portfolio of companies alongside Facebook and WhatsApp. Like every social media app and website, too much of a good thing can be bad. Whether it’s becoming addicting or you have no use for it anymore, you have the option to delete your Instagram account or temporarily disable it.

The process for deleting and temporarily disabling your Instagram account is similar, but it’s done on different parts of the website. You cannot do either of these things from inside the Instagram app on your device. That means you will need access to a web browser, and it’s easiest on a computer for most people.

How to Delete Your Instagram Account Permanently

To permanently delete your Instagram account, follow these steps:

  1. Login to Instagram on a web browser
  2. Go to the Delete Your Account page
  3. Choose the reason for deleting your account
  4. Tap on the Delete button

Note that this permanently delete your account from Instagram, and there is no recovering it afterward. Your profile will not be visible as soon as you hit delete. However, the account deletion takes place thirty days after clicking delete, giving you some time to change your mind. If you happen to change your mind, you can log back in before the thirty days are up and choose to keep your account. 

If you would like to disable your Instagram account temporarily rather than delete it entirely, there are some steps on how to do that below.

How to Temporarily Disable Your Instagram Account

To temporarily disable your Instagram account, follow these steps:

  1. Login to Instagram on a web browser
  2. Tap on your profile icon on the top right
  3. Go to Profile
  4. Tap on the Edit Profile button next to your name
  5. Select the Temporarily disable my account option on the bottom-right of the page
  6. Select the reason for disabling your account
  7. Re-enter your password
  8. Press the Temporarily Disable Account button

Like deleting your account, you can also disable your account via web browser, and you cannot disable it from inside the Instagram app. Temporarily disabling your account is a less permanent solution and might be an option if you’d like to go on hiatus for a while.

Note that you can only disable your account once every seven days. After you disable your account, your photos, comments, and likes are all hidden until you reactive your account by logging in again.

To reactivate your Instagram account after it’s been disabled, you can log back in with your credentials, and it will automatically be enabled again.

Disclaimer: Some posts on Techozu may contain affiliate links. Purchasing through these links may earn us an affiliate commission.