How to Block Someone on Messenger

Updated

Here’s two ways to block someone on Messenger, along with how to remove someone from your blocklist.

How to Block Someone on Messenger

Meta’s Messenger is one of the most widely used instant messaging apps for mobile devices. It’s a great way to chat with friends and Facebook connections. However, it’s also possible to receive some unwanted messages from time to time. If that’s the case, you may need to add people to your block list. In this guide, we’ll show you how to block someone on Messenger and how to unblock people on your block list.

How to Block Someone on Messenger

To block someone on Messenger:

  1. Open Messenger on your mobile device.
  2. Find and tap on a conversation with the person you want to block.
  3. Tap on the person’s profile name at the very top.
  4. Scroll down and tap on the Block button.
  5. Select either ‘Block on Facebook‘ or ‘Block messages and calls,’ depending on your preference.

Another way to block people on Messenger is through the app’s Privacy section. A built-in blocklist feature will display a list of people you currently have blocked and includes an option to add additional people from your contacts.

To add someone to your blocklist on Messenger:

  1. Open Messenger on your mobile device.
  2. Tap on your profile picture at the top left.
  3. Tap on the Privacy button and go to Blocked accounts.
  4. On the ‘Blocked accounts‘ list, tap on the Add button at the top-right corner.
  5. Add the person you want to block to your ‘Blocked accounts‘ list.

How to Unblock Someone on Messenger

The process to unblock someone on Messenger is done through the ‘Blocked accounts’ feature within the app’s Privacy section.

To unblock someone on Messenger:

  1. Open Messenger on your mobile device.
  2. Tap on your profile picture at the top left.
  3. Tap on the Privacy button and go to Blocked accounts.
  4. On the ‘Blocked accounts’ list, find the person you want to unblock and tap on their name.
  5. Select Unblock.

There you have it; two ways to block someone on Messenger, along with some additional steps you can follow to unblock people. 

FAQ

When you block someone on Messenger what do they see?

When you block someone on Messenger, you have the option to block messages and calls or block them on Facebook. If you block them on Facebook, they will no longer be able to see your profile.

Can I block someone on Messenger without them knowing?

The short answer is no. Meta doesn’t notify people if you block them. However, blocking someone may not always stop them from contacting you. If a person you’ve blocked sends you a message on Facebook, it’ll appear as “sent” on their end, but you won’t receive that message.

When you block someone on Messenger, can they still see your messages?

When you block someone on Messenger, they won’t be able to see any of your messages or your active status. You can still message them, but they’ll never receive any of your messages.

Can someone still read your message after you block them?

If you block someone, they will not be able to see any messages you send them.

For more guides and walkthroughs, check out our Messenger section.