How to Delete Instagram Messages

Updated

Trying to hide your IG DMs from someone? Here’s how to delete your Instagram messages on an iPhone or Android

How to Delete Instagram Messages

If you’re a private person, there’s nothing worse than someone getting ahold of your phone. If you have a snoopy somebody checking out your IG DMs, you might want to delete some messages. To make things look more organic, we suggest deleting specific messages instead of entire threads. Here’s a step-by-step guide on how to delete Instagram messages.

Keep in mind that deleting entire DM threads will only delete them on your end. The other user will still have access to those threads and they can also always take a screenshot of your message. If you want to make sure the other user doesn’t have the messages in their inbox or notifications, you’ll want to unsend specific messages.

How to Delete Instagram Messages

To delete Instagram messages:

  1. Log into your Instagram account.
  2. Tap on the Home icon on the bottom left of the screen.
  3. Tap the Message icon with the lightning bolt in it.
  4. Long hold on the message that you want to delete.
  5. Tap Delete.
  6. Tap Delete again.

This will delete the entire message thread. Now you don’t have to worry about that special someone getting a hold of your DM activity!

If you’re looking to instead delete a specific message or messages rather than the entire thread, read the solution below.

How to Delete Specific Message in DM Thread

To delete a specific message in a DM thread:

  1. Log into your Instagram account.
  2. Tap on the Home icon on the bottom left of the screen.
  3. Tap the Message icon with the lightning bolt in it.
  4. Tap the DM thread you want to delete.
  5. Long hold on the message you want to delete.
  6. Tap Unsend.
  7. Tap OK.

Now the message will be deleted on both your end and the other person’s end. This is the more safe way to make sure that your secret conversations are deleted forever.

How to Delete Messages on Instagram DM 2022

FAQ

How do you permanently delete Instagram messages on both sides?

Go to your messages and long press on the message you want to delete. Tap Unsend message. This will delete the message on both ends.

Is there a fast way to delete messages on Instagram?

Tap and hold the DM thread and then delete the entire thread. However, keep in mind, this only deletes the messages on your end.

When you delete a conversation on Instagram does it delete for the other person?

Unsend deletes the message for everyone in the conversation while Delete will just delete the messages on your end.

Does blocking someone delete messages?

Blocking someone does not delete their messages. The messages will still be visible to the person who blocked the other person.

Does vanish mode delete messages on both sides?

Yes, vanish mode deletes messages on both sides. This is a great feature if you want to keep your conversations private.

For more tech guides, see our Tech Section.